Golden Ball

Sebastian Giovinco – 2018 SCCL Golden Ball


Golden Ball presented by Scotiabank | SCCL 2018

GUADALAJARA, Mexico – Thanks to his excellent performances throughout the 2018 Scotiabank CONCACAF Champions League Toronto FC’s Sebastian Giovinco earned the Scotiabank Golden Ball award.

Giovinco appeared in all eight of Toronto FC’s games during their run to the final, netting four goals and collecting three assists.  

The 31-year-old Italian forward is the first ever player from Major League Soccer to capture the SCCL’s highest honor.  


Scotiabank Golden Ball winners

2008/09 - 2010/11: not awarded

2011/12: Oribe Peralta, Santos

2012/13: Aldo de Nigris, Monterrey

2013/14: Mariano Pavone, Cruz Azul

2014/15: Dario Benedetto, Club America

2015/16: Rubens Sambueza, Club America

2016/17: Franco Jara, Pachuca

2018: Sebastian Giovinco, Toronto FC