Best Player 2019
Best Player 2019

2019 SCCL Best Player 

GUADALUPE, Mexico – Thanks to his excellent performances throughout the 2019 Scotiabank CONCACAF Champions League, Monterrey’s Nicolas Sanchez has earned the Scotiabank Golden Ball award.

The 33-year-old DF was a pivotal figure in helping the Rayados claim their fourth SCCL title.

Sanchez scored five goals in the tournament, including both Monterrey goals in the 2-1 aggregate win over Tigres in the Final.

The Argentine also converted four of five penalty attempts in the 2019 SCCL, most notably the decisive spot kick in the Round of 16 versus Alianza and in the Final against Tigres.


Scotiabank Golden Ball winners

2008/09 - 2010/11: not awarded

2011/12: Oribe Peralta, Santos

2012/13: Aldo de Nigris, Monterrey

2013/14: Mariano Pavone, Cruz Azul

2014/15: Dario Benedetto, Club America

2015/16: Rubens Sambueza, Club America

2016/17: Franco Jara, Pachuca

2018: Sebastian Giovinco, Toronto FC

2019: Nicolas Sanchez, Monterrey

Best Player 2019