Pachuca’s Blanco grasps SCCL Golden Glove

Alfonso Blanco receives the Scotiabank CONCACAF Champions League Golden Glove award after helping Pachuca to the SCCL title on April 26, 2017, in Pachuca, Mexico. (Photo: Straffon Tmages)

PACHUCA, Mexico – Alfonso Blanco was named winner of the 2016/17 Scotiabank CONCACAF Champions League’s Golden Glove award after helping Pachuca to its fifth CONCACAF title on Wednesday, prevailing over Tigres 2-1 on aggregate.

The 29-year-old played in every minute of the Tuzos’ 10 games, allowing eight goals and posting six shutouts.

He is the fourth Mexican to take home the prize in the five times it has been presented.

Golden Glove winners

2008/09 - 2011/12: not awarded
2012/13: Oswaldo Sanchez, Santos
2013/14: Alfredo Talavera, Toluca
2014/15: Evan Bush, Impact de Montreal
2015/16: Hugo Gonzalez, Club America
2016/17: Alfonso Blanco, Pachuca