CCC2018: Portmore United, Atlantico FC open with wins
Atlantico FC’s Engelbert Briceño (pictured) celebrates after converting a penalty kick in a Caribbean Club Championship match against Racing FC on February 7, 2017, in Santiago, Dominican Republic. (Photo: Alfonso Conde)

SANTIAGO DE LOS CABALLEROS, Dominican Republic – Tier 1 play in the 2018 CONCACAF Caribbean Club Championship (CCC) resumed Wednesday with a first-round, Group B doubleheader at the Estadio Cibao FC. summarizes the action:

Central FC (Trinidad & Tobago) 0, Portmore United (Jamaica) 2

- Battle of former champions: Central FC (2015, 2016); Portmore United (2005)

- Portmore United scored twice in the second half to earn a 2-0 win

- Jamaica international Ricardo Morris (47’) gave PMU a 1-0 lead two minutes after the break

- Jermie Lynch (86’) capitalized on indecision in the Central FC defense to double the advantage with four minutes remaining in normal

- Coincidentally, both Morris and Lynch scored in PMU’s 2017 CCC opener – also a 2-0 win over the Cayman Islands’ Scholars International

Atlantico FC (Dominican Republic) 2, Racing FC (Haiti) 1

- Host Atlantico FC launched its second-ever CCC campaign with a 2-1 win over Racing FC

- Engelbert Briceño (7’) converted an early penalty kick to put the Dominican champion ahead 1-0

- Nine minutes later, the lead was doubled by Jarol Herrera (16’), who got free at the top of the box and fired in from 13-yards out

- Charles Bendy (27’) scored Racing FC’s only goal, slotting in from 11-yards out after Atlantico FC goalkeeper Cristian Blanco made a save off an initial shot

The Competition

The top two teams from Group B will join Group A winner Club Atletico Pantoja (Dominican Republic) and runner-up Arnett Gardens (Jamaica) in the CCC finals, with the champion gaining a place in the 2019 Scotiabank CONCACAF Champions League, while the runner-up and third place finishers will qualify for the 2018 Scotiabank CONCACAF League.

The fourth-place side will face the winner of the Tier 2 tournament -- Caribbean Club Shield -- in a playoff to determine the third club that will represent the Caribbean in the 2018 Scotiabank CONCACAF League.  The Tier 2 champion, however, must comply with the minimum CONCACAF Club Licensing requirements to secure participation.

Cibao FC (Dominican Republic) is current champion, defeating San Juan Jabloteh (Trinidad & Tobago), 1-0, in the 2017 final.



First Round

GROUP A (Ato Boldon Stadium – Couva, Trinidad & Tobago)

Table (GP-W-D-L-GF-GA-Pts.)

Club Atletico Pantoja 3-2-1-0-6-0-7

Arnett Gardens 3-1-1-1-5-2-4

W Connection 3-1-0-2-2-5-3

Real Hope Football Academy 3-1-0-2-1-7-3

January 31, 2018

Club Atletico Pantoja 0, Arnett Gardens 0

W Connection 0, Real Hope Football Academy 1

Johnson Jeudy 3’

February 2, 2018

Real Hope Football Academy 0, Club Atletico Pantoja 3

Luis Espinal 35’, 59’; Armando Maita 41’

W Connection 2, Arnett Gardens 1

Marcus Joseph 2’, 13’ / Fabian Reid 62’ pen

February 4, 2018

Arnett Gardens 4, Real Hope Football Academy 0

Fabian Reid 65’, 86’ pen, 90’+2; Leon Strickland 90’

W Connection 0, Club Atletico Pantoja 3

Luis Espinal 27’; Armando Maita 37’; Jean Carlos Lopez 65’ pen

GROUP B (Estadio Cibao – Santiago de los Caballeros, Dominican Republic)

February 7, 2018
Central FC 0, Portmore United 2

Ricardo Morris 47’; Jermie Lynch 86’

Atlantico FC 2, Racing FC 1

Engelbert Briceño 7’ pen; Jarol Herrera 16’ / Charles Bendy 27’

Table (GP-W-D-L-GF-GA-Pts.)

Portmore United 1-1-0-0-2-0-3

Atlantico FC 1-1-0-0-2-1-3

Racing FC 1-0-0-1-1-2-0

Central FC 1-0-0-1-0-2-0



Friday – February 9, 2018
Racing FC v Central FC
Atlantico FC v Portmore United

Sunday – February 11, 2018
Portmore United v Racing FC
Atlantico FC v Central FC